We got the news…

…today that due to budgetary restrictions, and barring some sort of otherworldly miracle, they would begin letting people go in two weeks. Yikes!

It’s really amazing the changes we go through as time goes by. I, historically have been laid back to the point of lethargy for the better part of my life. My wife, on the other hand, is talented, motivated, ambitious, etc. Normally, I would have met this mornings news with a que sera, sera sort of attitude and she would have been coiled tightly. Somewhere along the way, we seem to have traded places. She met the news with a, “Awesome! An adventure!” attitude. I, unfortunately am currently curled up in a fetal position under my desk contemplating the relative merits of a life of crime.

I don’t like what’s happened. I was cool. Mellow. Ever so slightly (and comfortably) detached. The wind parted around me and I bent with it. Beautiful. So now what’s all this crap?!

What will we do? How will we pay our bills? Eat? Get ice cream? I know people that have twice the experience and 100 times the education that I do that have been without work for forever it seems. Part of me (when I let it) gets a little excited about the potential. Think of all the headway I could make on all these projects! That’s pretty exciting. Unfortunately, not a single one of my creative endeavors will probably add up to dollar one. Even should the fat lady sing her ass off, these aren’t revenue enticing things. Just stuff for my soul. Beyond that, I don’t have a clue what I’d do.

Well, silent masses, we shall see…

~ by trendof1 on February 10, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
